1443 Fir Lane, Pinetop, AZ 85935
Site Navigation
picture of Fred's Lake

REVIEWS: Pinetop Cottages Fred’s Lake

Testimonials From Previous Guests

Perfect for 25th wedding anniversary!!

Thank you Karen, We had a wonderful time-so relaxing and peaceful! The lakefront cottage was amazing-had everything you would need & more! Dogs loved the patio and front yard! Definitely, we’ll stay here again when we come back up to the mountains. Thank you for your hospitality.

Bonnie D

The Lake View cabin is the best hidden treasure in Pinetop!! The cottage is beautiful, well equipped, and so so so comfortable. We ventured out into the perfectly manicured yard every morning to sit on the tree swing and enjoy our morning coffee. Our two small dogs were in paradise as they were free to roam in a completely enclosed yard with lots of lush grass. We used the wonderful grill to make dinner and again, enjoy it outside in the cool air. Fred’s Lake is a little gift of glory that allows you to fish, paddle boat, or just sit by the calm water. We so enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. Anyone that comes to the Pinetop Cottages at Fred’s Lake will want to come back again and again!

Loved our stay!!

We decided to take our two kids, ages 13 and 7, up to Pinetop for a little last minute hurrah before they return back to school next week. Yes, already! Due to meet the teacher being tomorrow, we could only stay for two nights. The kids wanted to stay longer! We brought our two shih tzu’s as well and they had a blast being able to roam freely around the yard since it is completely enclosed. We cooked out one night on the grill, and really appreciated all of the utensils and pans provided. It is close to all amenities, yet seems removed and peaceful. The kids had a blast fishing and using the paddle boats while the geese honked around us. The beds were super comfy and the kids enjoyed being able to use their iPads/phone with the wifi and watch all of their cartoons with the directv. We will definitely be back!

Feel free to leave comments below:

[powr-social-feed id=d7125e65_1496680019753]

Perfect, again

We stayed in Lakefront, for the 2nd time .. all was perfect again. Clean, well appointed..we had our small dog so the fenced front yard and wonderful deck were great for his freedom, to say nothing about how much he loved watching the birds on the Lake. Karen has everything stocked you could possibly want. The cottage was extremely clean .. lots of videos, books, etc. if you needed them. As others have said, it is located conveniently to restaurants, etc., very close to the main street, but feels like you are back in the deep woods. We will be back, again…thanks, Karen for making this so special.

First Time Great Location

My wife and I are already planning on coming back next summer. The cottage was clean and perfect size for the both of us. Great location as you can walk to Charley Clarks. Loved relaxing out on the patio enjoying the view of the pond and trees. Karen was very easy to work with.

Our 3rd time!

This will be our 3rd year back and we hope it will continue for many more. Karen is wonderful! We have rented the 1 bedroom and the 2 bedroom and both are exceptionally clean with plenty of room. Beautiful views with many options for activities in the area. It is a great place to relax OR you can try one of the many restaurants, hike, bike, shop or enjoy a little nightlife all within walking distance.
We HIGHLY recommend!

I did not want to come home

The time I spent there was the most enjoyable and relaxing few days I have had in I don’t know how long. The cottage was large enough for 6 people and it had everything that one would need. Very clean and the yard was very beautiful as was the lake. The whole area was beautiful. Like the title says, I did not want to come home. It was worth every penny I spent. Next time we go we are not packing a lot of clothes because there is a washer and dryer provided. Stove, microwave, coffee maker, WiFi, satellite tv and barbeque also provided. Our doggie also loved it!!

Our Boys Loved It!

This is just what we needed for a quick getaway. Our boys loved the lake with the paddle boats enjoyed watching the geese. We really enjoyed the fence yard with our dog and all of the outdoor games that were provided for use. We will plan to come back in the near future for sure.

Great Girls Weekend Getaway!

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Cozy Cottage at Fred’s Lake. The Cottage was nicely decorated and very clean. Comfortable furniture and beds. It had everything we needed. We all enjoyed our stay very much. We will definitely return for our next girls weekend. – Paula G, Avondale, AZ / Stayed: September 2014

Love it!

We returned again this year, but for two weeks instead of one. Can’t say enough good things about each of the 3 cabins as far as cleanliness, well equipped kitchens and activities provided for all ages from bikes, fishing, indoor and outdoor games, etc.. Karen is the best! Can’t wait to return again and again. Great for couples, families and small get-togethers with friends. Also, although you are in a serene, quiet area, you are only a short 10 minute walk to restaurants and shops! Perfect! – Elizabeth D. Phoenix /Stayed: August 2014

Didn’t want to leave…

We were delightfully surprised by what we discovered on our visit to the Lake Front Cottage at Fred’s Lake in Pinetop. Everything Was WONDERFUL!! Everything you could possibly need was in that adorable cottage. Spic and Span clean and orderly. We didn’t want to leave!!! A five night stay is almost NOT enough…next time we will stay longer. – Sherri H. Tucson, Arizona / Stayed: August 2014

Lakefront Cottage

perfect place for a couple to vacation, relax enjoy the view .very private only three cabins on Fred’s Lake. cat fish in the lake if you enjoy fishing. king size bed to relax on large enclosed deck for the dogs and fenced in yard for them to roll around. perfect place to beat the heat of Arizona summers. thanks – goose1124 mesa az / Stayed: July 2014

OUTSTANDING Place to stay

Much more than we were expecting. The Lake View Cottage had “top drawer” features that included most anything you could need or want: DVDs, fishing poles, bikes, games, Direct TV, etc. We enjoyed our stay and felt like we had the whole lake to ourselves (the 3 resident geese entertained). Just a short walk to stores/dining. Looking forward to a return trip to R&R with great value. Telling friends about this retreat. – Pinky Oro Valley, AZ / Stayed: May 2014

Family Friendly Cottage

We stayed the weekend at the Cozy Cottage and we loved it! The owners were very responsive with communication both before and after our stay. The cottage was very clean, maintained, and tastfully decorated. Everything was comfortable and there was everything we needed to make several meals and have family fun. When the weather was cold we watched movies and played games, all provided. When the weather warmed up we went on the pedal boat and watched the geese on the lake. It was so fun for the kids! The front and back yards are nice, and easy for the kids to play safely. There is a grocery store nearby, and Charlie Clarks Steakhouse, where we had a good meal. We also enjoyed shopping at a few antique stores and a nearby swap meet. We really enjoyed staying at the Cozy Cottage and would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing getaway! – Kaylene G. / Stayed: April 2014

Our new first choice in Pinetop

We travel to Pinetop almost every year for ski season. This year we were a party of seven including children. We have a couple of cabins that we like. This time our usual cabins were already reserved. We found the Cozy Cottage available, and suffice to say that now is our first choice for next year. Reasons? (1) The location is superb, itΒ΄s near of everything but far from noice and cars. (2) The cottage is very clean, and very comfortable. (4) Very good for children, there are no stairs or anything dangerous for a toddler. (3) Very well equipped.
We loved it! – Javier R. Rio Rico, Az / Stayed: February 2014

Can’t wait to go back!

What a wonderful place to stay and the owners are very pleasant! We were very pleased with the cottage we stayed in and want to go back again soon. We have stayed at other places in the area and none of them could compare. This is very comfy, cozy and clean! The kitchen (bakeware/cookware) was stocked better than I expected. There is a local grocery store nearby that was a great place to pick up items we needed during our stay.
We also took our two dogs along and we normally have a hard time finding places that allow two large breed dogs.
The gas fireplace was acting up during our stay. But that is no fault of the owners. Since the unit had another heat source we were not too concerned.
Thanks again Karen and Steve for a wonderful and relaxing stay! – Tammy L. / Stayed: December 2013

SO ENJOYABLE!!!

Thank you Karen for such a wonderful stay!!!
Our family of 3 & 2 small dogs had a wonderful time.
You provide all the comforts of home.
Such an enjoyable place to come home to at the end of a long day skiing.
We will be back without a doubt. Happy New Year The Meltons – Melton Family Scottsdale, AZ / Stayed: December 2013

Awesome πŸ™‚

We stayed at Lakeview from 10-3-10-7-2013. This was our first visit and it wont be our last. We loved it! Thanks Steve and Karen for sharing your oasis. Lakeview cottage is gorgeous and had everything you wold need. We enjoyed the hot tub on the back private deck after a day of fishing at the private lake. We caught a lot of catfish and released back. Lots of fun. Very peaceful and relaxing. I would highly recommend. Todd & I will be back πŸ™‚
Thanks, Shannon & Todd – Shannon phoenix, Az / Stayed: October 2013

Sheer Perfection

This was our second stay in the Lakeside cabin, because after such a wonderful visit last year, we couldn’t wait to do it again! So we came to celebrate our 44th anniversary in this little slice of Paradise. The cottage was even better than we remembered. The owners had added a grassy fenced front yard that was perfect for letting our little doggy run without worrying about her harassing the resident geese. They have also added a washer and dryer in the unit, which came in really handy. The topping on the cake was that she had left a stunning bouquet of calla lilies for us, as an anniversary present! (Thank you, Karen!) The cottage is adorably decorated, pristinely clean, and sublimely comfortable — a combination which is the trifecta for perfect lounging. But our favorite place, other than the king-sized bed so comfy we want to take it home with us, is the deck overlooking the lake, where we spent 90% of our time, reading, playing games, and watching the geese and ducks swim on the lake beneath the gorgeous color-changing trees. It is a place of such peace and beauty that I hesitate to give a good review, because I don’t want it to be always booked when we’re ready for our next trip, lol. But we’ll never go anywhere else in the mountains, when we’re looking for serenity that brings tears to your eyes. This is it.
Sierraslim – El Mirage, AZ / Stayed: September 2013

Amazing

We love to go up to Pinetop every year and we are so happy we found the cottages at Fred’s lake! We will be returning every year! We are a family of 4 with two young kids ages 2 and 4 the property was perfect for having children. We highly recommend staying here not only does it feel like a hidden paradise but its close to stores and restaurants. You will not be disappointed !!!
Ashtin F. / Stayed: September 2013

Mary, Bill and Anita, Mesa,AZ
We were looking for relief from the hot weather in Mesa and what a great place. We stayed at the Lakeview Cottage. Everything was perfect. Modern and up to date. The area was very private and quiet and yet you could walk to town. We’ve never stayed in a place that was so well kept. A private lake with paddle boat, row boat, fishing poles and total quiet. It was great. We are already making plans to go next year and stay longer. Karen and Steve were perfect hosts.
Sissy Mesa, – AZ / Stayed: September 2013

Relaxing Getaway

We stayed at Lakefront from 9/9-9/12/13, with our small dog. This was our first visit to Pinetop Cottages, and Freds Lake. We LOVED this cottage, right on the water, with a huge deck overlooking the Lake. Nice to be able to let dog out on deck, and in fenced, grassy front yard. We did have rain, but since the deck was partially covered, were able to sit outside. Being bird lovers, we were in heaven, and one morning were awakened by the 6 am. arrival of geese honking ! There was a gaggle of 15 Canadian geese, and they “joined” the local 3. Lots of ducks also. What Karen & Steve had done here, is create a lovely oasis, peaceful and quiet for guests. As other reports have stated, you will have everything you could want, provided .. accommodations were perfect in every way. The hosts, altho on the same property nearby, were never intrusive, but if we had a question, were always available. We would highly recommend this property, and personally, will be returning another time .. Fall was great, but the trees were just beginning to turn, so next time we will go a little later, and hopefully, stay longer .. Thank you Karen & Steve, for providing this oasis ..
Sally & Bud – Prescott, AZ / Stayed: September 2013

Wonderful time at the Lakeview Cottage

My family & I have been coming to pinetop for many years but had never heard of the Freds Lake properties & decided to try the Lakeview Cottage in August 2013. Karen was so wonderful to work with. Her emails were prompt & we could not have been happier with our stay. The cottage was spotless & everything we needed was inside. My grandaughter loved the paddleboats, the ducks, & the little yard with the swing. We used the grill & the hottub & they both worked well. It seems it is hard these days to receive good customer service & everything was as it was promised. Thank you for making our stay such a great memory
Jiminy Cricket – Tucson,Az / Stayed: August 2013

2nd timers

This is our 2nd time at Fred’s Lake and we stayed at the Cozy Cottage, our first visit we stayed at the Lakefront Cottage. As usual everything you need is there, and more, the cabin was very clean. The backyard was enclosed which was great for our dogs. I love the beds in both of the cottages, I look forward to sleeping in the California King! This visit we felt a little detached from the lake, but that is in no way a reflection on the owners, the lakefront was great because we were right there, however the cozy cottage was more comfortable with 4 people. We bought some amazing meats at Eddie’s Country Store and restocked our Coyote Country Seasoning. Overall, we loved the Lakefront because of the privacy, the Cozy Cottage is right next door to a family with several small children. Still a great getaway from the heat! Laura B. / Stayed: August 2013

Grand week in August, 2013

Just about perfect A week was just right to fully relax and take advantage of a beautiful, flawlessly maintained lakeside cottage, that has everything one could need or want. Fishing in the lake was fine…caught half a dozen catfish large enough to eat and others to catch and release. Right on the lake, and open to a constant breeze. Walking distance to excellent restaurants (Charlie Clarks and The Pasta House) and a Basha grocery. Short drive to a Safeway and lots of other restaurants. There is even a cine-plex nearby. Will definitely book for next summer. Two other couples, part of our group, stayed in the two bedroom cabin…same overall excellent quality.
Van – Phoenix / Stayed: August 2013

Relaxing/Quiet Getaway

Had a great time at Pine Top Cottages. The cabin was clean and very nice, My husband and I enjoyed fishing on the lake. We stayed for three nights, we are looking forward to are next getaway and hope to stay a littile longer next time. Based on our stay we would recommend this getaway to freinds and family. Thanks Karen
Martha and Lou – gilbert az / Stayed: August 2013

Wonderful Getaway in the White Mountains Az!

We got home yesterday from 4 fabulous nights at the lakefront cabin. Every detail has been thought of by Steve and Karen. The sounds of birds, bugling elk and nature all around was so relaxing.Our two bichons were loving the 80 degree weather too! They didn’t know what to make of the 3 resident geese. We can’t wait to come back! The Red Devil Restaurant close by, was our favorite!
Tom K. / Stayed: August 2013

Great Getaway Spot!

We had a great getaway from the Phoenix heat at the LakeView Cottage. Karen was wonderful to deal with when booking our stay, giving details and answering questions very promptly! The cottage was clean, comfortable and very family friendly. We took advantage of the canoe and paddle boat on the little lake and the fenced yard at the LakeView cottage was a definite plus in letting our little one play in the yard. We had an issue with the barbecue while we there and the owners were extremely prompt in taking care of it! I would highly recommend and will definitely stay again when we are in the area.
happytraveler – Phoenix, AZ / Stayed: July 2013

Break from the heat

We had a great time! We were 2 families who stayed in the LakeFront and LakeView cabins with 4 young boys from 3-6 years old. Everything you could think of was available for our use but it was the lake that entertained the kids and husbands to no end! Everyone had a great time and we are looking to make this an annual visit. Thank you!
Joanie Phoenix, – AZ / Stayed: July 2013

Cute Cabin Getaway

The Lakefront Cottage was all that we expected and then some! It was spotless and had all of the comforts of home. We enjoyed sitting on the deck in the mornings for coffee and the afternoons for cocktails. It is centrally located, so it’s easy to get to everything. We ate at several locations, but would say that Darbi’s was the best. We would definitely give this high marks and would certainly come back here again. A nice break from the Phoenix heat!
Anonymous Gilbert, AZ / Stayed: July 2013

A Birthday Surprise

I was recently surprised with a trip to Pinetop for my birthday. I have never been to northern Arizona so I had absolutely no idea where we were headed to. My boyfriend wouldn’t tell me anything, not even a clue so needless to say I was quite antsy. We stayed at the Cozy Cottage for 2 nights and it felt like a home away from home. I am originally from the East Coast so being able to see grass, trees, lakes, horses and cows was a much needed relief. I really liked the location because you felt like you were in a secluded area yet you were close enough to town that it wasn’t an inconvenience to drive anywhere. The Cottage was well taken care of and I really liked that there were cooking utensils, cookware and dishes provided. The owners really have thought of everything you could possibly need. We will definitely be returning in the future.
Christina & Roman – Tucson AZ / Stayed: July 2013

Relaxing Getaway in the White Mountains

This was a great place for our family of 3 and our 2 Jack Russells. We stayed at the Lakeview cottage and it was fenced in with a beautiful green lawn and wonderful trees. The cottage was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed for our 4 night stay. We fished on Fred’s Lake and caught small catfish! The cottage is within walking distance to the Eddie’s grocery store, Charlie Clarks, and various retail stores. The patio was great for reading. The laundry room is one I would love to have in my own home! The cottage was clean and spotless!! Windows everywhere to create a nice breeze throughout the cottage. We loved watching the clouds storm in and had a couple of days of rain. A nice escape from the heat of the valley. Only downside, unable to use our cellphones – didn’t have coverage once we hit the area. Nevertheless, still a great time was had by all!
Diane1 – Scottsdale / Stayed: July 2013

So relaxing

We are a family of five plus a dog and stayed at the Lakeview cottage. What a perfect size for an one week vacation, away from the heat. Close enough to walk to the general store for an ice cream or a steak at Charlie’s Clarke….it was so refreshing to feel the wind, relax in the shade and enjoy the sunshine that was just perfect. We could bike around the neighborhood, enjoy the small lake with the paddle boat or the canoe, or simply take walks. The cottage had so many upgrades and yet, the kids did not need any toys other than some butterfly nets or bows and arrows! This cottage was so clean and had everything to make you feel at home, especially with the nice logs in the living room. I would go back in a heartbeat.
Carolyn – Mesa / Stayed: June 2013

Wonderful Retreat!

We stayed at the Lakefront cottage for 4 nights. It is a charming, beautifully decorated cottage with a large deck over looking Fred’s Lake. We enjoyed the view, wildlife, cool evenings and and the great location. The owners are quick to respond to any needs and obviously take great pride in their properties. I’m already checking my calendar for a return trip!
Babs – Mesa / Stayed: June 2013

AWESOME City Getaway!

I stayed in Lakefront Cottage with a friend, and my very welcomed dog. We got there late Friday night and it was in the 30s, but the heat and lights were on for us so we were comfortable from the start. Everything was perfect, clean, comfortable, and the owners were very personable and fast to respond to your needs via email or telephone. I had my cleaning fee returned to me within 2 days of my stay. Very cozy for a romantic weekend or getaway with a friend. My dog loved it too! The geese are a bit protective of their property but they eventually give in πŸ™‚
nicole – phoenix / Stayed: October 2012

Can’t wait to return!!! SOON!!!

My husband and I made last minute plans to get out of town for our 1st Anniversary…we were hopeful that the cottage we found would be as cute as the pictures showed…we were more than pleasantly surprised!!! We absolutely loved everything about our cottage. Here are some of our favorite parts: 1) The location on the lake was private and completely serene. 2) The bed, pillows, and linens were as comfortable as some of the 5 star hotels we have stayed at in the past. 3) We were greeted by a delicious homemade desert and a sweet note welcoming us from the owners, Karen and Steve. 4) The location was amazing…just minutes away from Charlie Clark’s and Eddie’s Country Store. 5) The kitchen had everything we needed to cook our meals…we did not want for any sort of pot, pan, or utensil needed to cook! 6) The couches were so comfortable and the TV was perfect. 7) The lake had a peddle boat that was fun to ride around on the lake. 8) The ducks and geese were very entertaining, even though we did not feed them…it was fun to watch them! 9) Across the lake there were horses roaming and grazing…so pretty to watch! 10) Our FAVORITE part of the cabin was the fact that the only heat source was a soothing see through fireplace between the living room and the bedroom that was controlled by the thermostat…very romantic!!! We are excited about returning with our teenagers soon and staying at the larger cabin…we are sure that the kids will love being so close to snowboarding,..along with the hot tub….lots of hiking trails….and snow to have snowball fights! πŸ™‚ Karen and Steve make you feel right at home and will make you feel as though you are in your OWN home away from home!! We are sure it would be a tough task to find a better place to stay if your travels take you to Pinetop/Lakeside!!! You will not be disappointed….at least, not until you have to leave!
Pete & Leigh Ann Tucson, – Arizona / Stayed: November 2012

Pinetop Cottages

We stayed 4 nights. We had a wonderful time. We have 3 girls who loved playing in the green grass, which we do not see much of in southern Arizona. They also loved the hot tub and the paddle boat. They kept saying, “This place rocks!” They are very excited to go back next year. I recommend Pinetop Cottages to anyone looking for a very relaxing vacation.
Pink Crayola – Oracle, AZ / Stayed: October 2012

Escaping from Tucson Heat

He highly recommend the Lakeview cottage which we had the priviledge of renting last weekend. The location was within walking distance of great restaurants, a quaint grocery market, and some small shops. One evening, there was a live band playing a few streets away on the main strip but we had to struggle to hear it once we were back at the rental. The property is perfect if you are traveling with children – the fenced in yard gives them a place to play and fishing opportunity was a plus. The interior of the cottage is EXQUISITE. The fully stocked kitchen is gorgeous, the fireplace takes the chill of on a cool morning, and the bedrooms/bathrooms are clean and well-maintained. If we visit the Pinetop/Lakeside area again, we will definately looking up this property first thing.
RepeatCustomer – Tucson, AZ / Stayed: September 2012

What a Birthday Escape!!

We spent 5 days at the wonderful Lakeview Cottage for mine and my husband’s birthday and there is nothing negative to say at all about this property. It is decorated nicely without being overly fru-fru or cheap. The bed was nice and comfy and the views out the bedroom windows were so nice to wake up to and look out. And that yard! Awesome deck both front and back yard but the favorite was the tree swing. Major plus to the jacuzzi and the jetted tub. A beautiful kitchen that was such a joy to cook in. Anything you could possibly think of needing this place has! It even had that griddle we were looking for to cook pancakes on! Even though we brought our own there was coffee, sugar and creamer available. Not to mention the spices, oil, dish soap, towels….you name it, it was there. Just a few blocks from the main road you would never know it. So quiet and peaceful listening to the birds and crickets you forget you are in town. The lake with the geese was super nice. Loaded with catfish, even though we didn’t catch any (the attention span of a 7 and 8 year old) it was still nice to paddle around the lake and row the boat out to fish. Of course there were woodland critters that I preferred not to have met but they went on their way quickly and quietly. Oh and the friendlyneighbor horses, be sure you take them some carrots or apples cos they will come right up to that fence! And if you go and aren’t sure of what to do or where to possibly eat should you decide not to take advantage of the wonderful kitchen. Karen has this wonderful book that has every imaginable menu from around town as well as other things to do. Let me just say, Charlie Clarks for steak. Major YUM! Mama Bear’s for lunch…you sure won’t leave hungry. Try the corn fritters. Tasty tasty deep fried goodness. This cottage is one of the nicest we have stayed at and I have used VRBO quite a bit. You will not be dissapointed in your stay. My kids loved it and can’t wait to come back. Which I can assure you, we will be visiting again!!
Denise Tucson, – AZ / Stayed: September 2012

A DELIGHTFUL Place to Get Away From It All!

We just finished 4 nights in the Lake Front Cottage — and hated to leave! The location is perfect, so quiet you’d swear you were miles out in the country, but less than a mile to restaurants and stores if you need extra marshmallows for the s’mores. The listing description and pictures are accurate, but they cannot convey the true peace and beauty of the lakefront. The private lake is literally just 10 steps from your deck, where geese and ducks swim, rippling the reflection of tall trees beyond it as they change colors for Fall. In the background, horses graze in a meadow of wildflowers (and come up to the fence for carrots!). When we weren’t using the free paddle-boat, row-boat or fishing rods, we spent all our time on the covered deck, reveling in the view, playing games, and eating goodies cooked in the well-stocked kitchen. Inside, the cottage is adorably decorated, spotless, cozy, and comfortable, complete with two cable TVs, loads of videos to play, games, and a bed so cushy we didn’t want to get out of it, from which we watched the flames in the gas fireplace. At night we left the windows open to enjoy the cool mountain air and peek at the stars. We are already counting the days until we can return. The owner, Karen, is wonderfully helpful and accommodating, and answered all our questions by email within minutes of sending them. Our only ‘problem’ the entire time we were there was that we needed new batteries for the remote control — and got them within 5 minutes of asking. She and her husband take pride in the property and in being good ‘landlords,’ and it shows. I cannot recommend the cottage highly enough.
Sierraslim – El Mirage, AZ / Stayed: September 2012

Retreat with friends

At the encouragement of my husband and some friends we stayed at the two bedroom cottage over Memorial Day weekend. My husband and our friends has been there before and told me how nice it was while attending a senior softball tournament. I was unable to go on that trip. What a wonderful place! It was quite and peaceful. The cottage was super. It was clean and the owners think of everything. All you need to bring are your clothes and some food items. They even included spices, sugar & cream for coffee. If you don’t want to bring your own, there is a wonderful market up the road within walking distance. We played croquet on the beautiful lawn in the evening, fished during the day and lounged in the hot tube. I can’t think of a nicer place if I had designed it myself. We are looking forward to going back in the winter to enjoy the snow and then again next summer.
Teacher2B – Tucson / Stayed: August 2012

Perfect!

We loved the lakefront cottage! 1st of all it was so CLEAN!!. It was quite and really just perfect! We will return, for sure. We felt like we had a whole lake to ourselves. There were so many little things: The outdoor deck with a gate. We loved the trex decking, it felt clean. We loved the little portable speakers indoors. I hooked them up to my laptop and was able to listen to Pandora music. We loved the lake fountain and light at night time. We loved being able to walk to restaurants and markets. Thank you for a great relaxing weekend!
Diane & Brian – Pine, AZ / Stayed: August 2012

Fabulous Vacation Spot

I have never had a better vacation in all my years as I had at Pinetop Cottages. The Lakefront Cottage was more than expected and the close proximity to restaurants and stores was perfect. It is so amazing to have a place like this only 2 1/2 hours away from our hot valley home in phoenix. I will recommend to everyone to stay here. Especially loved the gigantic fish in lake and the geese and the spotting of the bald eagle and the horses on the hill. The decor was amazing and the place was spotless. Had all the comforts of home and then some. High kudos.
Sue bee – Mesa / Stayed: July 2012

Golf Get Away

We went to Pinetop and the cabin on Fred’s Lake to play some golf. Well it rained every day we were there. Got in some golf before the rain cme 2 days in a row. Sitting on the porch listening to the rain was relaxing. After 3 days we came back well rested. A great place for a getaway.
N and R – Green Valley,az / Stayed: August 2012

another awesome weekend get-away!

As always, we had a wonderful, relaxing and memorable stay at Pinetop Cottages. We stayed in the Lakeview Cottage and enjoyed a clean, well equipped and “home feel’ environment accommodation. We have stayed at different lodges and cabins during our vacations in the White Mountains. We now have found our favorite place to escape, for a relaxing and peaceful weekend. We are looking forward to visiting again soon. Thank you again, Karen & Steve, for your hospitality.
Rooster – Phoenix, AZ. / Stayed: August 2012

Nice Surprise

My husband and I stayed for 9 days in August 2012 and were pleasantly surprised with the cottage. We were concerned it was too small, but it exceeded our expectations. Karen and Steve know how to manage rental units and have many extra touches included. Even though it is “in town” it has a very rural feel — yet still very close to everything you need from restaurants, to stores, hiking, golf, etc. The outside deck was our favorite as we enjoyed watching the geese, blue heron and ducks during their daily adventures. Being right on the lake was very enjoyable. We would come back again.
B and B – Scottsdale / Stayed: August 2012

Summer Getaway

What a delightful place to escape the summer heat! My husband and I (along with our dog) spent 3 wonderful days in the lakefront cottage. It was delightful to say the least. Our cottage was beyond my expectations and has everything you could possibly need. Just pack a bag and and head on up to Pinetop. The cottage is beautifully decorated, very clean and cozy and the king bed is more comfortable than my own. The owners are very friendly and helpful.You can definitely tell they have a passion for what they do. We will absolutely come back to this lovely place.
Joyous – Tucson / Stayed: July 2012

Father’s Day Weekend

We were up there from Tucson for a senior’s softball tournament. My wife and I and a teammate, and our 2 bulldogs stayed at the 2br Lakeview Cottage and a teammate and his girlfriend at the 1br Lakeside cottage. The Lakeview had a nice, large fenced in grass lawn and with a good sized deck, large table and chairs. It was ideal for playing with the dogs and entertaining teammates who stopped by for a cookout. Large grill on the back deck made that possible. Kitchen was spacious with all kinds of utensils and even a well stocked spice rack. Living room had a large sized HD tv mounted on the wall. Wifi connection was good. Jacuzzi on the back deck was very nice. Also, adjacent to the back deck was an immaculately clean laundry room. Wall mounted tv in each of the bedrooms. Enjoyed visiting our friends over in the Lakeside cottage. It was across the parking lot, about 50 yards away. Small unit, but very comfortable. Huge outside deck overlooking the small lake furnished with comfortable chairs and a table. Enjoyed the paddle boat and the resident geese. Two of the guys fished and didn’t catch much, but seemed to really enjoy themselves. The manager’s gave us plenty of privacy, but were very accommodating helping us out with questions. Can’t wait to get back up there again.
Bulldoug – Tucson, Az, USA / Stayed: June 2012

Beautiful Lake view cabin

My wife and I along with our dog stayed in the Lakeview Cabin very recently. The cabin description was very accurate. The photos were exactly how the cabin looked. The lakeview cabin was very very clean, all rooms were furnished nicely, it had a big front yard for our dog to run in and the back yard deck had a nice hot tub to relax in. I would highly recommend to a couple or small family as it can sleep up to 6 people. By the way, Fred’s Lake is a Private Lake and only people renting the 2 cabins can fish on it so it is very peaceful and relaxing. The owners were great, right there if we needed anything but otherwise you wouldn’t even know they were there. We hope to come back during the hot summer months here in Phoenix!
2Sundogs – Phoenix, AZ / Stayed: May 2012

Amazing Christmas!

We came up here for a Christmas Getaway to play in the snow and were so amazed with the accommodations! The spa was heated and ready. The house was well decorated, very clean and comfortable. So close to town that we could walk there but still had a very country feel. Hope to spend more holidays here!
Jessica – Chandler / Stayed: December 2011

Wonderful

I wanted to get away from the city and personal life……. The cabin did an amazing job distracting me. It was exactly as described, very clean, very quiet, very peaceful…..just perfect!!!!!!!! My dog had a wonderful time as well…..the deer was a perplexing thing for him lol. Thank you for opening your home to us.
Will definitely return!!!
Revy – Phoenix / Stayed: December 2011

Excellent Vacation Spot!!

My wife and I just spent the weekend at the Lakeview Cottage. The cottage was PERFECT! It had a fully stocked kitchen, a gas fireplace, a quaint deck and a nice private jucuzzi. The best part about the cottage was how extremely CLEAN it was. Its location was perfect if you are looking for a private yet centrally located cabin escape in Pinetop! My wife and I plan to spread the word about this hidden gem and we cant wait to get back ourselves. We really did have a wonderful time. Thank You!
Gabe – Gilbert, AZ / Stayed: November 2011

Our weekend Cottage in Pinetop

10/21/11-10/23/11
We took our family (brother-in-law & sister-in-law) to the Pinetop Cottages. We stayed in the Lakeview cottage. The owners provided a world class accommodation. The amenities and cleanliness were beyond my expectations. Our only disappointment was having to leave at the end of our stay. This is a first class property managed professionally. I would recommend this property to anyone wanting to have a clean, well-equiped property for either a cozy romantic weekend, or a place to share with family or friends. Can’t wait to go back!

Bruce & Tina Chandler
Rooster – Phoenix, AZ. / Stayed: October 2011

Great Family Weekend!

Just returned from a wonderful family weekend. The accommodations could not have been nicer. The owners thought of all of the little things that help to make a weekend away a relaxing retreat. They could not have been nicer either. Very convenient location. Just a fantastic escape and well maintained home. Great for families, even those with very young kids.
Chris – Buckeye, AZ / Stayed: July 2011

Beautiful Getaway!!

My husband, two children, and myself loved our stay in the lakefront cabin. The children loved having meals on the patio and feeding the ducks and geese. The cabin offers the perfect environment for escaping the hustle and bustle of Phoenix. The owners, Steve and Karen, are wonderful! We would definitely return and recommend the cabin for anyone in need of a getaway!!
Curtis family – Gilbert, AZ / Stayed: July 2010

Tucson, AZ.

We had a GREAT time in the 2 br Cottage with our daughter and her 3 kids. The Cottage is updated with all stainless steel appliances, granite countertops and hardwood floors. Very clean, and all you need to bring is your food and clothes. We all loved going around the lake in the paddle boat. They liked fishing in the row boat. I don’t know how there can be any more fish left in that lake, with all that was pulled out of there from my grandkids. We will be going back there again. Steve & Karen could not have been any nicer, was very helpful in answering any questions we had. If you go you will love it as we did.
robin – Tucson, Az / Stayed: July 2010

Fun at Fred’s Lake

My wife and I stayed at Freds Lake. We were in the a beautiful cabin fully furnished with every thing you could think of. It was on the lake and it gives a feeling you just don’t have when you wake up at home. We loved this place. We rode out on the lake in the paddle boat which was alot of fun and we went hiking while up there in a wonderful forest. Steve and Karen the owners are some of the nicest people you would ever want to meet and take great care of their cabins and the people who stay in them. I highly recommend staying there as we did and had a wonderful weekend. You won’t be sorry you stayed here, I promise you.
N/A- Scottsdale, AZ. / Stayed: October 2010

PERFECT!!!!!!!!

Took my girlfriend last weekend and stayed in the smaller cabin on the lake. We had a great view of the lake! Customer service was awesome and very helpful!! All together was a great weekend and would come back!!
Jayson – Mesa / Stayed: June 2011

Loved this escape week!

I love both of the cabins. They are cozy, decorated very nice and so peaceful. We stayed in the small cabin and it was so nice and private. It was great to get up in the morning and have morning coffee on the deck and watch the ducks and the geese just a few yards away. Charlie Clarks Restaurant and grocery store within walking distance so that was a perk. You can’t help but like the owners Steve and Karen. Very accommodating to your needs and cabins had all sorts of little amenities. Will definitely stay again.
Jeanie Mesa, – Az / Stayed: May 2011

Welcome Home | Cottages For Rent | AvailabilityΒ |Β Fred’s Lake Location | Testimonials | Contact Us